A few weeks ago, I conducted a prayer call with a few of my #BuildThisKingdom sisters and delivered a message titled: How I Woke Up. On this prayer call, I recited scriptures from 2 Corinthians 5:11-17. The scriptures states:

“Since, then, we know what it is to fear the Lord, we try to persuade others. What we are is plain to God, and I hope it is also plain to your conscience. We are not trying to commend ourselves to you again, but are giving you an opportunity to take pride in us, so that you can answer those who take pride in what is seen rather than in what is in the heart.  If we are “out of our mind,” as some say, it is for God; if we are in our right mind, it is for you. For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died. And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again. So from now on we regard no one from a worldly point of view. Though we once regarded Christ in this way, we do so no longer.  Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!”

In translation, we typically get the side eye from those who have not reached our level of spirituality. When we develop an understanding of who Christ is, and what he’s done, our walk, talk, and responses are different. Some may call us crazy, or make quotes referencing the authenticity of our relationship, but what matters most is remaining on a path of righteous. I find that most people often become discouraged within their walk, because they look to live in perfection. We are NOT perfect, but we serve a perfect savior. The scripture above denoted that if anyone is in Christ, he/she is a new creature. Meaning you should no longer depict the characteristics from your former life, instead, you should strive to mimic the movement of your new life, the one where CHRIST is present.

Let me be totally honest with you. There was once upon a time where I felt completely disconnected from GOD. I knew the scriptures but not the person reflected in the scriptures, there’s a difference, trust me. I did not understand during this season, why I failed to have a connection or understanding of who HE was and what HE was doing in my life. It was so mind boggling because I grew up in the church. I knew the books of the bible, I knew the hymns, and I knew I could do all things through Christ. But I was still missing the key component. I was missing the relationship of knowing the person who we sung about, who created life so the scriptures could manifest. It was during this season where I started to doubt the existence of GOD. I was so frustrated and just down right angry with him. Let me tell you #HowIWokeUp from this spiritual disconnect. In June of 2011 I arrived at church one Sunday morning with doubt, guilt, and anger in my heart. I looked around and saw all these people worshipping and glorifying GOD and reciting scriptures that attempted to justify the circumstances surrounding their life situations. And I just didn’t’ feel it. I made a bold declaration unto to The Lord. I said, “If you want me to believe you’re real, you will have to show me because I’m not buying it”. The Tuesday following church service, my SUV hydroplaned off the interstate causing me to lose control of the vehicle. Keep in mind, during this time I was 20 weeks pregnant and my life wasn’t going as planned. My car was destroyed on the top, bottom, and on both sides. When I turned my head slightly right, I was face to face with one of the giant trees from the forest that surrounds Interstate I-49. I was shocked, confused, afraid, angry, and then grateful to be alive. When the paramedics and police arrived I remember not being able to talk. They called my husband to inform him of the accident and still all I could do was hyperventilate. For a brief moment, before the car stopped, I blacked out. Before blacking out, from the direction the car was headed, I was supposed to crash into the forest head on. Instead, the rear of the SUV had crash into the trees and the front of the SUV was facing the interstate. I walked away from this accident with a small scratch and the gender of my baby. Later on, I realized if I would have crashed into the forest head first my baby nor I would be alive to tell our story. It was at this very moment, when I woke up. There was nothing anyone could tell me about GOD because I experienced a personal encounter where he SHOWED me who he was. I became a new creature. But that wasn’t the end. Even after this, although I understood and knew who he was the attacks came from every direction. It was at this point where I started to yearn for a relationship with GOD. I wanted to know more and I dived head first into his word. Because of this new level of spirituality or shall I say my new relationship with GOD, it caused a dent in some of my personal, spiritual, and professional relationships. I was not the same person. My walk, talk, and customs are now different. I had to understand that I encountered this experience but others did not. So they wouldn’t understand my new normal. We have to grasp an understanding that when we shift, not everybody will shift with us. But it’s not about them. It’s about you. When YOU experience HIM, you don’t have to try to convince people of your faith. Simply live it. Your consistency in your walk and in your faith will reveal who YOU are but most importantly, WHOSE you are.

My prayer is that you accept your new walk with confidence, boldness, and with faith.

If you are in need of prayer, you can submit prayer request to SHEPrays4you@gmail.com at any time.

You can also join me on a weekly prayer call with some amazing ladies of Build This Kingdom Ministries every Tuesday at 7:00pm CST.

Dial in Number: (712) 775-7031 Meeting ID: 483-773-752

Once again thank you for taking the time to read my BLOG.

God Bless!!!!

4 thoughts on “How I woke up!!!!

  1. And this is why I love you. You continue to uplift and inspire others. May God continue to guide your ministry and bless your household. I want to believe that he saved you for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

