I really did not have intentions to compose a blog post today, however; the word says that “we make our plans but it is The Lord that determines our steps” (Proverbs 16:9). So accurate! Nevertheless, let’s get to it.

In a random parenting moment, I asked my daughter to clean off the kitchen table because she left it a mess. She removed her plate, removed her glass, but did not remove the blemishes of food. Translation, crumbs were everywhere. She went on her way to continue playing around the house. Before I knew it, I was screaming from the top of my lungs. She was so confused… She gave me a puzzled look, like this woman is CRAZYYYYYYYYYYY!!! However, I preceded to ask. “Do you see how filthy that table is?” What? She asked. I screamed “there’s food everywhere”. She said, again, so innocently, what? By this time I was furious. How could you not see the food crumbs on the table?! She said mom it’s just crumbs… If you are a parent, I am sure you understand my frustrations, right? I continued to explain to her that the “just crumbs” could attract ants or other bugs. I told her she needed to clean that up to prevent any future problems. Immediately God started to speak to me through this situation.

You see, those crumbs that were left on the table, are exactly how we view certain sins. It start off small, maybe a glass of wine here, or a beer, it’s just one drink, right? Maybe just one episode of a very provocative reality show, you’re not doing it, right? It’s just one little bit of gossip. It’s not anything big, right? Well, that ONE “small” sin can eventually lead to you becoming a consistent drinker instead of a casual drinker. Becoming consumed with multiple shows that affect your spiritual growth and plant negative seeds that lead to even bigger sins. One small piece of gossip that turns into daily slander. One petty moment that turns into a season of unrighteousness. We view things as being so minor initially, not realizing the long term effects of what we are indulging in. Spirits linger and we open up ourselves to the very things God objects, we give the enemy permission to come in and settle there. Before you know it, what seemed so innocent turned into a path way for destruction. The word of God says “think on things that are pure, true, honorable, right, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable, things that are excellent or praiseworthy” (Philippians 4:8). The word of God also states “to conduct yourselves with such honor among the Gentiles that, though they slander you as evildoers, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day he visits us” (1 Peter 2:2).

You too can hear from God through very simple, everyday living when you drown the voice of the enemy and intentionally seek God through his word and through prayer. There are so many times we overlook the “smallness” of sin. My daughter may not fully understand the significance of cleaning up the crumbs, but she will know that small problems could turn into even bigger ones when you are not attentive to its impact.

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. If you would like to jumpstart your prayer life, I am offering a FREE devotional titled Perfecting the Art of War. In this devotional I give you #5PrayersFor5Days. To request a copy, email me at SHEPrays4you@gmail.com. If you are not following me on Social Media, you can find me on Twitter @_SHEMinistries and on FB at www.facebook.com/SheNelMinistries. Oh, don’t forget to subscribe below.

 

May God Bless you is my Prayer…

 

SHE

Leave a Reply

