“Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. For by it the elders obtained a good testimony“- Hebrews 11:1-2

Faith, such a common word that is extremely difficult but mandated by spiritual authority. How many of you have stated that I have faith followed by the infamous word BUT… I have faith, BUT things are not going as planned. I have faith, but I feel like I should be doing something in addition to waiting. I have faith, BUT I just do not get it (this is probably the most famous).  According to scripture, faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen (Hebrews 11:1). Therefore, your faith cannot rely on what YOU can see naturally, but trusted by what God can do supernaturally. I whole-heartedly believe that we lack faith in today’s society because we are too distracted by the busyness of this world. It was hard for Sarah/Sarai (Abraham’s wife) to wait on God’s promises with limited distractions so imagine the pressure we have as Christians today. We have television, radios, internet, other electronic devices, work, school, families, extracurricular activities, church, school projects, etc. Not to mention the pressure of social media. Let’s face it, we have a lot going on, that also pushes us to want/desire more, yet we STILL struggle to simply have faith.

I have been down this road more than you could imagine. Situations seemed impossible to recover from, all while I held on to hope.  Some of you may be overwhelmed because of school, feeling like you will never see the light at the end of the tunnel (boy have I walked that road, a 4-year degree due to life circumstances took me 7 years to complete). While others of you may be waiting to land the perfect job (I have been there too, it was such an uncomfortable season).  Then, there are the few of you who are like Sarah, waiting to conceive. Now this is painful. There are even some of you who are thinking, am I destined for marriage (time waits for no one right)? Let us not forget the few who are sitting around evaluating finances thinking faith cannot pay these bills. I’ll admit, having faith is very hard, I unequivocally agree. However, as Christians we need to add an additional component to our faith, which is trust. Psalms 9:10 states “Those who know your name trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you”.

I know it is hurting you to sit still and wait, I know it is hard when you do not have control, I know it is hard to control your feelings when enduring these difficult moments, I know… Nevertheless, you have to pull it together and PUSH even though your mustard seed faith has just about withered away

Let us take a look at the story of Abraham and Sarah. When Sarah tried to force her miracle, she ended up creating an even bigger problem. You know the story, right? She instructed her husband (Abraham) to sleep with their servant (Hagar) to produce a child that he desperately yearned for (this had to be a hard call to make). She knew what God promised, but in her eyes, father time was not on her side and she had to make something happen, and quick. How many times have you attempted to MAKE it happen because you did not see HOW or WHAT God was doing behind the scenes? #ActionCheck

I encourage you today to surrender your feelings to God. To trust him with every fiber of your being. To give your situation to him. To pray, to believe, to walk in confidence knowing that what you have faith in shall manifest. It may take a little more work (Faith without works is deadJames 2:17) but continue to press on anyway. On our journey to faith, we often stumble upon strength and miracles we never even dreamed of. Trust God beyond how you SEE your current circumstances. Scripture states, “we live by faith and not by sight” 2 Corinthians 5:7.

While you are waiting and holding on to faith, prepare. I know you are desperately seeking your reaping season, but until that time comes, ask God for direction on what YOU need to handle in the process. There is a quote I absolutely love- I am sure you have seen or read me post it several times before because it speaks to me. It is by Abraham Lincoln “I will prepare and someday my chance will come”. So, my encouragement today is for you to sit still and prepare. Before I depart, I do understand that sometimes what we want is not what God want for us, however this post is dealing directly with those things that God has shown us, but they have yet to manifest. 🙂

1 Corinthians 16:13 states “Be on guard; stand firm in faith; be courageous; be strong”

I am standing with you on the journey to faith. You are not alone. Don’t forget to subscribe below and remember, if you are ever in need of prayer, email me at SHEPrays4You@gmail.com.

-SHE

One thought on ““Faith Hurts”

  1. Needed this today. It’s great when your thriving and everything is going well. But FAITH is when nothing seems to be lining up. All your motivators have erased there words, and seemed to have become invisible. What you thought was a sure thing changes it’s form, when your down to your last & God’s says, “Will you still STAND?” Will you still TRUST my ways and not your own? Try Faith! Love this! Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

