We must learn to be effective in prayer

“Therefore I say to you, whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you receive them, and you will have them” Mark 11:24

I often receive inquiries about developing a consistent prayer life. If you’ve been following me for a while, you know that I am an avid prayer educator. Why? Because it is vital that we develop a rock solid relationship with God. Not only that, there is power in prayer. Colossians 4:2 NKJV states “Continue earnestly in prayer, being vigilant in it with thanksgiving”Philippians 4:6 NKJV states “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your request be made known to God”.  

A few years ago, I became so frustrated with my life that I went on a quest to pray every hour on the hour. I composed a list of issues or needs and I found a promise (scripture) for all areas that I listed and added it to all 12 numbers on a regular clock. I was livid and I was determined to not allow the devil to steal my joy. If you would like a sample of this Prayer Clock, send me an email and I can send you the PDF document that thoroughly explains this method of my prayer strategy.
The purpose of me informing you of that process is to get here. You see, up until that point, I did not realize the significance of being strategic in my prayer life. We cannot afford to have our peace abducted, so we must ALWAYS be ready, armored up, and equipped.

In order to be effective, you must be willing to admit that YOU DO NOT HAVE IT ALL TOGETHER! That is BIG, very big. I had to learn to be honest with God, which is how I became transformed and renewed as a Christian. To start a consistent prayer life you will need to do the following:

  • Create a Prayer Plan for the Week- This means, every day you should target a specific area in your life (Sample- Monday (Finances), Tuesday (Health), Wednesday (Marriage)….). This helps to focus your mind on issues that could slip through your fingers.
  • Stand on the promises- Each day, you should have a scripture of hope. God loves for us to repeat his words back to him.
  • Dedicate Time- Every day, you need to set aside time to sit still and meditate on the word. We are so consumed with the cares of this world that we are just busy producing without the blessings of God. We must learn to give God time before giving ourselves to anyone else.
  • Identify the schemes of the enemy (THIS IS BIG!!!!!!!!!!!!!)- We must understand that the enemy is seeking whom he can devour and is roaming around attempting to KILL, STEAL, and DESTROY… He is very cunning, but God is more powerful than the enemy could ever begin to be. However, do not be blind to his devices-if we’re not careful, we will allow the schemes of the enemy to make us angry with God. Our current circumstances are most times NOT God’s fault. But we murmur and complain instead of planning and praying. Know that God’s will for you is to prosper. Anything outside of prospering is the enemy.

Growing up, my mother loved to state on numerous occasions (after I would have a spiritual temper tantrum) “when you get tired, you’ll do something different”. LOL. So, my question to you, are you tired yet? If so, activate the word of God in your life.
Lastly, remember to pray without ceasing (1 Thessalonians 5:17).

If you are in need of prayer, submit request to SHEPrays4you@gmail.com.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post!

 

-SHE

3 thoughts on “How to Start a Consistent Prayer Life…

Leave a Reply

