While reading my daily devotional, titled “A Moment With Scripture”, God revealed something to me that I secretly wondered about for years. Before I unleash the scripture, allow me to explain the thoughts behind this post. A few years ago, I was crying out for help. Not physically crying, but spiritually I was crying. I’ve seen many times where prophets would confirm what a person was going through, but in this season, I got nothing. Nobody could see me spiritually, they only saw the natural. I remember saying, God why does people run to help the rich, they are already taken care of, but neglect the poor. Now some of you may be thinking in terms of natural finances but I am writing in terms of spiritual richness. People are quick to tell a person who are already well established they are going even higher but neglects the spiritually dead, drained and poor. I understand now that I was spiritually hidden in order to protect the righteousness I must continue to pursue, but at that time, I was bothered. I begin to think, maybe just maybe these people were not OF God. They couldn’t be, didn’t Jesus come to save the sick, not the well. None of that made sense to me. 

Low and behold, God unveiled the scripture behind my feelings in today’s reading. 

“My brothers and sisters, believers in our glorious Lord Jesus Christ must not show favoritism. Suppose a man comes into your meeting wearing a gold ring and fine clothes, and a poor man in filthy old clothes also comes in. If you show special attention to the man wearing fine clothes and say, “Here’s a good seat for you,” but say to the poor man, “You stand there” or “Sit on the floor by my feet,” have you not discriminated among yourselves and become judges with evil thoughts? Listen, my dear brothers and sisters: Has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom he promised those who love him? But you have dishonored the poor. Is it not the rich who are exploiting you? Are they not the ones who are dragging you into court? Are they not the ones who are blaspheming the noble name of him to whom you belong? If you really keep the royal law found in Scripture, “Love your neighbor as yourself,” you are doing right. But if you show favoritism, you sin and are convicted by the law as lawbreakers.”- James‬ ‭2:1-9‬ ‭NIV‬‬

In the back of my mind, I’ve always seen something wrong with people flocking to those with influence, flocking to those with status, flocking to those who are rich, all while neglecting those who could use assistance financially and/or spiritually. After all these years, God revealed it. I have read bits and pieces of this text never coming to the conclusion that my feelings were in alignment with the word. That it is why it is very important not just to have the knowledge of Christ but the character and the spirit of Christ. At just the right time, he will reveal your thoughts, feelings, and way of life through his word. If I would have received this word before now, I would not understand it. God waited for me to NEED the explanation of it followed by a season of real life experiences. He is just so awesome! 

I pray this message blessed you, it sure blessed me! 

SHE 

Leave a Reply

